Master in Software and Systems

Software Construction: Implementation Issues

Lecturer (Coordinator):
Manuel Carro
mcarro@fi.upm.es
Lecturer:
Pedro López
pedro.lopez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
César Sánchez
cesar.sanchez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Aleks Nanevski
aleks.nanevski@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Juan Caballero
juan.caballero@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alessandra Gorla
alessandra.gorla@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Gilles Barthe
gilles.barthe@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Boris Köpf
boris.koepf@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Dario Fiore
dario.fiore@imdea.org
Lecturer:
José Morales
josef.morales@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Pierre Ganty
pierre.ganty@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alexey Gotsman
alexey.gotsman@imdea.org

Semester

Second semester

Credits

6 ECTS

Outline

The contents will depend on the topic jointly chosen by students and their adviser. However, students will be expected to gain a full understanding of a problem that can be solved by means of a computer program and establish, in close collaboration with an adviser, the requirements of a computer solution, taking into account functional and non-functional issues and all possible resulting architectural styles. Students will have to clarify the problem and all of its characteristics previously with their adviser.

The types of software whose requirements can be defined include:

This is, of course, an incomplete list.

This is a demanding course with a heavy workload and requires a thorough understanding of the problem at hand. Therefore, it will require very frequent meetings between instructor and student (typically 3 to 4 hours a week). Students working towards a MSc degree should consider the resulting workload, especially taking into account that this subject is scheduled for the second semester, part of which students have to spend on writing their master’s thesis.

Learning Goals

Program

  1. Topic to be defined jointly between the student and the supervisor

Website

http://www.software.imdea.org/graduateschool

Prerequisites

Assessment Method

Tuition Language

English

Subject-Specific Competences

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject-specific competence

Code Competence Proficiency Level
SSC4 Analysis and evaluation of several software-based systems construction and management engineering paradigms and approaches S
SSC5 Contribution of solutions to open problems related to software verification and validation applications and methods, techniques and tools A

Learning Outcomes

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject learning outcome

Code Learning Outcome Associated competences Proficiency level
RA-AV-1 Familiarity with the idea of design and implementation requirement SSC5 S
RA-AV-12 User-level understanding of the most commonly used demonstration techniques in program verification tools SSC4 S

Learning Guide

Subject learning guide for Software Construction: Implementation Issues