Master in Software and Systems

Software Construction: Analysis of Requirements

Lecturer (Coordinator):
Manuel Carro
mcarro@fi.upm.es
Lecturer:
Gilles Barthe
Gilles.barthe@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Juan Caballero
Juan.caballero@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Boris Köpf
Boris.koepf@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Pierre Ganty
Pierre.ganty@imdea.org
Lecturer:
César Sánchez
Cesar.sanchez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alexey Gotsman
Alexey.Gotsman@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Pedro López
pedro.lopez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Aleks Nanevski
aleks.nanevski@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Dario Fiore
Dario.Fiore@imdea.org
Lecturer:
José Morales
Josef.Morales@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alessandra Gorla
alessandra.gorla@imdea.org

Semester

First semester

Credits

6 ECTS

Outline

Subject contents will depend on the topic chosen jointly by students and their adviser. However, students will be expected to gain a full understanding of a problem that can be solved by means of a computer program and establish, in close collaboration with their adviser, the requirements of the software solution, taking into account functional and non-functional issues and all possible resulting architectural styles. Students will have to clarify the problem and all of its characteristics previously with the adviser.

The types of software whose requirements can be defined include:

This is, of course, an incomplete list.

This is a demanding course with a heavy workload and requires a thorough understanding of the problem at hand and the environment in which the software is intended to run. Therefore, it will require very frequent meetings between instructor and student (typically 3 to 4 hours a week). Students enrolling for this subject are also advised to take the "Software construction: architecture and interface design issues" subject in order to synchronize requirements and design as much as possible.

Learning Goals

Syllabus

  1. Selection of topic to be defined jointly between the student and the supervisor

Website

http://www.software.imdea.org/graduateschool

Prerequisites

Assessment Method

Tuition Language

English

Subject-Specific Competences

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject-specific competence/p>

Code Competence Proficiency Level
SSC1 Examination of the state of the art to identify research problems related to the design, construction, use and evaluation of complex software-intensive sociotechnical systems S
SSC3 Application of relevant research methods to open problems in the field of software engineering related to both the particular features of the software and software development management S
SSC4 Analysis and evaluation of several software-based systems construction and management engineering paradigms and approaches S

Learning Outcomes

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject learning outcome

Code Learning Outcome Associated competences Proficiency level
RA-SE-1 Identify weaknesses in project estimation and planning activities completed using non-classical methodologies SSC1 S
RA-SE-5 Model a program from a problem statement using a programming paradigm structure SSC4 A
RA-SE-8 Be able to put together different research paths, structured as small-scale project proposals rooted in the weaknesses of the state of the art for aspects that are on the boundaries of knowledge in different software engineering fields SSC3 S

Learning Guide

Subject learning guide for Software Construction: Analysis of Requirements