Master in Software and Systems

Software Construction: Architecture and Interface Design Issues

Lecturer (Coordinator):
Manuel Carro
mcarro@fi.upm.es
Lecturer:
Pedro López
pedro.lopez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
César Sánchez
cesar.sanchez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Aleks Nanevski
aleks.nanevski@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Juan Caballero
juan.caballero@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alessandra Gorla
alessandra.gorla@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Gilles Barthe
gilles.barthe@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Boris Köepf
boris.koepf@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Dario Fiore
dario.fiore@imdea.org
Lecturer:
José Morales
josef.morales@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Pierre Ganty
pierre.ganty@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alexey Gotsman
alexey.gotsman@imdea.org

Semester

First semester

Credits

6 ECTS

Outline

Students will be asked to design, in close collaboration with an adviser, the interfaces and architecture for a software prototype to solve a non-trivial problem. The requirements of the software will have been clarified previously with the adviser. The implementation environment (language, restrictions on memory / speed / etc.) will have to be carefully reviewed and agreed upon, and may depend on the needs of the software to be developed.

The possible types of software for design and development include:

This is, of course, an incomplete list.

This is a demanding course with a heavy workload and requires a thorough understanding of the problem at hand and the environment in which the software is intended to run. Therefore, it will require very frequent meetings between instructor and student (typically 3 to 4 hours a week). Students enrolling for this subject are also advised to take the "Software Construction: Analysis of Requirements" subject in order to synchronize requirements and design as much as possible.

Learning Goals

Syllabus

  1. Selection of topic to be defined between the student and the supervisor

Website

http://www.software.imdea.org/graduateschool

Prerequisites

Assessment Method

Tuition Language

English

Subject-Specific Competences

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject-specific competence

Code Competence Proficiency Level
SSC9 Evaluation of the most innovative human-computer interaction technologies and critical appraisal of the contributions to related research problems A

Learning Outcomes

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject learning outcome

Code Learning Outcome Associated competences Proficiency level
RA-VEI-5 Be familiar with assistive technologies and their interaction with ICT SSC9 S

Learning Guide

Subject learning guide for Software Construction: Architecture and Interface Design Issues