Master in Software and Systems

Independent Study with Adviser

Lecturer (Coordinator):
Manuel Carro
mcarro@fi.upm.es
Lecturer:
Pedro López
pedro.lopez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
César Sánchez
cesar.sanchez@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Aleks Nanevski
aleks.nanevski@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Juan Caballero
juan.caballero@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alessandra Gorla
alessandra.gorla@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Gilles Barthe
gilles.barthe@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Boris Köpf
boris.koepf@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Dario Fiore
dario.fiore@imdea.org
Lecturer:
José Morales
josef.morales@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Pierre Ganty
pierre.ganty@imdea.org
Lecturer:
Alexey Gotsman
alexey.gotsman@imdea.org

Semester

First semester

Credits

6 ECTS

Outline

This is a highly interactive and demanding subject. Students will be required to choose a research / study topic in agreement with their adviser, decide on the key issues in that topic, and propose a set of relevant papers which they believe cover the most important points of the chosen topic. The adviser has to approve the topics and the paper selection. Students will have to be in close contact with the adviser in order to make headway through the selected materials. Students will be required to frequently meet and interact with the adviser, often for as many as 2 to 3 hours a week, and devote a substantial amount of time to further researching the selected material. Thus, only very motivated students (preferably, with previous research experience or with outstanding abilities) are advised to take this subject and always after consultation with a prospective adviser.

Syllabus

  1. Selection of a topic for the subject jointly with the instructor.

Website

http://www.software.imdea.org/graduateschool

Prerequisites

Assessment Method

Tuition Language

English

Subject-Specific Competences

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject-specific competence

Code Competence Proficiency Level
SSC6 Investigation of the main active research lines in the field of distributed computing paradigms, their practical applications and necessary infrastructure management S

Learning Outcomes

More information:

This table shows the code, description and proficiency level for each subject learning outcome

Code Learning Outcome Associated competences Proficiency level
RA-NSDS-2 Ability to locate and identify seminal articles on the distributed systems research field SSC6 S

Learning Guide

Subject learning guide for Independent Study with Adviser